CEFR Scale

AIS Sprog uses the Common European Framework of Reference for Languages scale (CEFR scale) to determine language skills and learning objectives, and to select suitable books and materials for our students.

The CEFR scale is used to describe foreign language skills, and was designed by the Council of Europe.

The scale has six steps, which refer to the user’s level of ability in listening, reading, speaking and writing.

  • A1 and A2 (basic user)
  • B1 and B2 (independent user)
  • C1 and C2 (advanced user)

See AIS Sprog, Language Proficiency Profile (pdf).